Quissett Harbor - #34, Card

34quisettharborbig.jpg
34quisettharborbig.jpg

Quissett Harbor - #34, Card

3.00

#34 Watercolor

card 5" x 7"

One of the most picturesque harbors in New England, a haven for sailors since at least the 1800's, Quisett Harbor got its name from a shortening of the Indian words "Quamquissett" or "Wequamquissett." 

Starting in the late 1600's as a farming community, Quissett, by the late 1700's and early 1800's, had also become known for its salt and shipbuilding industries. 

One of the well-known buildings at the harbor is the Quissett Harbor house. Two houses which had been owned by the Jenkins and the Hammonds were joined in 1874. In 1881, Stephen Carey bought the building and it was operated as a plain and simple hotel until the 1970's. The Jenkins house still remains on the property.

Quantity:
Add To Cart