In 1828 the U.S. Government bought land and built a lighthouse at the entrance to Edgartown Harbor.
One hundred year later, the Coast Guard took over the light and demolished it after it was badly damaged by the hurricane of 1938.
In the fifties a cast iron tower from Ipswich's Crane's Beach was taken down, brought over by barge, and reassembled. In 1994, the lighthouse was transferred to the Martha's Vineyard Historical Society.
A children's memorial is at the base of the light. Its stones are engraved with the names of children who have died, with part of a poem by Tomas Napoleon: "A Remembrance of an Unforgotten Vineyard Summer."
The Harbor View Hotel overlooks this picturesque site where wedding parties often gather for photographs .