Uncle Tim's Bridge - #35, Card

35uncletimsbridgebig.jpg
35uncletimsbridgebig.jpg

Uncle Tim's Bridge - #35, Card

3.00

#35

note card

This footbridge in the charming little town of Wellfleet got its name from Tim Daniels, who lived with his wife and three children in a house next to the general store which he operated, across the street on the town side of the bridge. Children in the late 1880's were told to call their elders "aunt" or "uncle" even if they weren't related to them, so this became "Uncle Tim's Bridge."

The bridge was first built in the late 1700's but has been rebuilt at least three times. It connects the town to Cannon Hill, remembered most, perhaps, as the place where the town's Fourth of July fireworks are displayed.

 

Quantity:
Add To Cart